The best AI visibility tool depends on who is buying. For a founder or small team, GetIntel and Otterly.AI both start at $29 a month, and LLMrefs packs eight engines into one $79 plan. For a growing marketing team or an agency, Peec AI, LLM Pulse and AthenaHQ go deeper on analysis and model coverage. If you already pay for Semrush, Ahrefs or SE Ranking, check their AI modules before buying a second tool. For enterprise breadth through procurement, Profound, Scrunch AI and Conductor are the established names. This comparison rates all twelve on engines tracked, entry price, citation-level data and fix workflow, with every price read from the vendor's own page on 26 September 2026 unless the row says otherwise.
Disclosure: GetIntel publishes this ranking and sells one of the tools in it, and we list ourselves first. The order is our judgement of fit by buyer type, not a measured score. Every competitor fact is dated so you can check it against the vendor's own page.
The 12 best AI visibility tools compared on engines, price and fixes
| Tool | Engines | Starting price | Citation-level data | Fix workflow | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GetIntel | ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, AI Overviews daily; Claude weekly on Growth | $29/mo | Yes | Ranked tasks with drafted copy, from $79 | Founders and small teams |
| Otterly.AI | ChatGPT, AI Overviews, Perplexity, Copilot; others extra | $29/mo | Yes | GEO audits and weekly recommendations | Budget monitoring |
| LLMrefs | Eight, including Claude, Copilot and Meta AI | $79/mo (one plan) | Yes | Content gaps, no drafts | Most engines under $100 |
| LLM Pulse | Five included; Claude, Copilot from €8/mo each | €49/mo | Yes | Recommendations; agent from Growth | Five engines at the lowest price |
| Peec AI | Choose 3 of 6; more as add-ons | $95/mo (read 17 Sep 2026) | Yes | Gap analysis and ranked actions | Marketing teams wanting source detail |
| AthenaHQ | 5 free; 11 on Starter | Free; $295/mo | Yes | On-page and off-page actions, content agent | Growth-stage teams |
| SE Ranking | ChatGPT, AI Overviews, AI Mode, Perplexity, Gemini | $129/mo (SEO plan) | Yes | Through its SEO toolset | AI and rank tracking in one bill |
| Ahrefs Brand Radar | Six, including Copilot and AI Mode | Included from $129/mo | Yes | None: research and tracking | Existing Ahrefs users |
| Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit | ChatGPT, Google AI, Gemini, Perplexity | $99/mo per domain, annual | Yes | AI recommendations in reports | Existing Semrush users |
| Scrunch AI | Seven on every plan, including Claude and Meta | $250/mo annual, $300 monthly | Partial: cited sites | Page audits, AI-friendly site version | Brand teams wanting breadth |
| Profound | Up to 9 on Enterprise | Custom; free 7-day trial | Yes | Agents on Enterprise | Enterprise breadth |
| Conductor | Perplexity, ChatGPT, Gemini, Copilot | Not published | Not stated | Content workflows in its suite | Enterprise SEO teams |
Prices and engine lists read from each vendor's own page on 26 September 2026, except Peec AI, whose page showed no prices that day; its figures were read on 17 September 2026. "Citation-level data" means the tool shows the specific pages an AI answer cited, not only whether you were named.
What does an AI visibility tool do?
An AI visibility tool asks AI assistants the questions your buyers ask, records the answers, and reports whether your brand was named, which competitors were named instead, and which pages the answer cited. It repeats that on a schedule, because a single answer is a sample: the same question asked twice often returns a different list. The useful tools add two things on top of the count. One is citation-level data, the specific URLs behind each answer, which tell you where to get mentioned. The other is a fix workflow, which turns a gap into something to do: a page to write, a roundup to get onto, a thread to answer. None of this reads a ranking algorithm. It is an observation of output, taken from outside, and it is the only way to measure ChatGPT, Perplexity and Gemini at all, since none of them offers a Search Console equivalent. AI tools that do SEO work for you, such as writers and on-page optimisers, are a different category, covered in the best AI SEO tools.
Which tools do AI engines recommend when asked?
We put 10 buyer questions, such as "What are the best AI visibility tools in 2026?" and "Affordable AI visibility tracking tool under $100 a month", to ChatGPT, Perplexity and Gemini on 26 September 2026, once each through each engine's API with web search. 29 answers came back usable.
| Tool | Answers naming it (of 29) | Named first |
|---|---|---|
| Semrush | 22 | 7 |
| Otterly.AI | 19 | 3 |
| Profound | 15 | 5 |
| Peec AI | 14 | 1 |
| Ahrefs | 10 | 2 |
| SE Ranking | 9 | 0 |
| Scrunch AI | 8 | 0 |
Answers naming each tool, 26 September 2026: 10 questions, one run each on ChatGPT, Perplexity and Gemini with web search; one Gemini answer failed to return. GetIntel is excluded from the table.
The engines agree on who belongs on a shortlist and disagree on who comes first. Each answer named about eight tools, and on eight of the ten questions the three engines put a different tool first. Semrush, Otterly.AI, Profound and Peec AI appeared in every kind of question, from budget to enterprise. That reflects how much each has published and how often others write about it, which is why this table is not the ranking: it measures how often a tool is recommended, not how well it fits you.
1. GetIntel: best for founders and small teams who want the fix
GetIntel is a self-serve AI visibility tracker built for founders and small teams. Monitor is $29 a month for 25 buyer questions, Pro $79 for 60 and Growth $149 for 120. Every plan checks ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini and Google AI Overviews daily, and Growth adds Claude weekly. Each answer is stored with the sources it cited, so you can see which pages named a competitor instead of you. From Pro, every gap becomes a ranked task (a page to write or refresh, a roundup or review site that skips you, a Reddit thread worth answering) with the copy drafted where GetIntel can write it, and a coding agent can work through the list over MCP while you review each change. It suits a founder who wants a short list of fixes rather than a dashboard. The limits are coverage and scope: no Copilot, Google AI Mode or Meta AI, Claude only on the top plan, Monitor is tracking only, and it is not an SEO suite.
2. Otterly.AI: best for budget monitoring on a published ladder
Otterly.AI is the most-recommended low-cost tracker in the category, named in 19 of the 29 answers in our measurement. Lite costs $29 a month for 15 prompts tracked daily on ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Copilot, with unlimited team members, 1,000 GEO URL audits a month and three recommendations a week. Standard is $189 for 100 prompts, or $160 a month on annual billing, and lifts the recommendation cap while adding API and MCP access; Premium is $489 for 400 prompts. Link citation analysis shows which pages each answer referenced, on every tier. It suits a small team that wants a clear, published price ladder and can turn data into action itself. The limitations are the entry allowance and the add-ons: 15 prompts is enough to test the idea rather than run a programme, the Lite to Standard jump is steep, and Claude, Gemini and Google AI Mode each cost extra on every tier, from $9 to $439 a month depending on the engine and plan.
3. LLMrefs: best for the most engines under $100
LLMrefs sells one paid plan, and it is generous. All in One costs $79 a month for 500 prompts across eight engines: ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Google AI Mode, Gemini, Perplexity, Claude, Copilot and Meta AI, all included rather than sold as add-ons. Its page marks that $79 as a limited-time price. You can filter the full set of source URLs the engines cite, see content gaps where competitors are named and you are not, and use a set of free tools, including an llms.txt generator. There is a 7-day free trial. It suits a team that wants wide coverage and a large prompt set for less than $100 a month. The limitations are the single plan and the reporting rhythm: there is no smaller tier for a team that needs less and no larger one for a team that needs more, its automated reports arrive weekly, and content gaps are flagged without a workflow for drafting or shipping the fix.
4. LLM Pulse: best for five engines at the lowest price
LLM Pulse includes five models on every plan (ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Google AI Mode and Google AI Overviews) and sells Claude, Copilot and others from €8 a month each. Starter is €49 a month for 50 prompts, Growth €99 for 150 and Scale €299 for 450, charged in euros at live exchange rates, so a dollar budget moves month to month. It shows which URLs and domains the models cite and which of those mention you, adds recommendations derived from that data, and offers an MCP server from Starter and an agent from Growth. There is a 14-day free trial, and team seats are unlimited. It suits a team that wants broad default coverage and a low entry price per model. The limitations are currency and reporting: pricing in euros complicates a dollar budget, white-label reporting is on Enterprise only, and Claude, which several rivals include, is an add-on here, so the true monthly cost depends on which extra engines you switch on.
5. Peec AI: best for marketing teams that want source detail
Peec AI is the analytics-first choice, strong on why a brand is or is not cited. It classifies every source an answer used as competitor, editorial, reference or user-generated, runs gap analysis down to the URL, scores brand perception and ranks recommended actions as earned or owned, with unlimited users. Starter covers 50 prompts, Pro 150 and Advanced 350, and each plan tracks three models picked from ChatGPT, Google AI Mode, AI Overviews, Copilot, Gemini and Naver AI, with Perplexity and others as add-ons. We read its brand plans at $95, $245 and $495 a month on 17 September 2026; on 26 September its page listed the plans without prices, so that is the latest date we can vouch for. Annual billing takes 15% off. It suits a marketing team or agency that presents competitive data to stakeholders. The limitation is the three-model cap, which makes wide engine coverage an add-on cost, and Claude is available only on Enterprise.
6. AthenaHQ: best for growth-stage teams that want many models
AthenaHQ, which brands itself Athena, has the widest model list below enterprise pricing and a genuinely free way in. Its Essential tier comes with $25 of credit and covers ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews, Gemini and Copilot. Starter is $295 a month for 3,600 credits and opens 11 models, adding Claude, Google AI Mode, Grok, DeepSeek, Meta AI and Mistral. It pinpoints the websites the engines cite, and from Starter it acts on the data with on-page and off-page actions and a content optimization agent. Enterprise is custom and adds SSO and audit logging. It suits a growth-stage team that wants many models and content help in one tool. The limitations are the pricing model and the gap in the ladder: credits are spent per prompt per model, so how much tracking 3,600 credits buys depends on how you configure it; nothing sits between free and $295; and the annual price is not published, only a 17% discount.
7. SE Ranking: best for AI tracking and rank tracking in one bill
SE Ranking folds AI visibility into a full SEO platform, so the case for it is consolidation. Core costs $129 a month, or $103.20 billed annually, and includes 2,000 tracked keywords plus 100 AI prompts checked daily; Growth is $279 for 5,000 keywords and 250 prompts. A separate AI Search add-on costs $89 a month and lists 200 prompts, though the pricing page does not say how those relate to the prompts the plan already includes. It tracks ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Google AI Mode, Perplexity and Gemini, maps the domains and URLs that appear in AI answers, and keeps cached copies of the answers. There is a 14-day trial with no card. It suits a team that wants AI data beside its rank tracking and site audits. The limitations are that there is no Claude or Copilot, fixes run through the general SEO toolset rather than an AI-specific workflow, and it is poor value if you only want AI tracking.
8. Ahrefs Brand Radar: best if you already pay for Ahrefs
Ahrefs sells Brand Radar in two parts, and only one is bundled. The market-wide index, which researches any brand across Ahrefs' prompt database, is included on Lite at $129 a month, Standard at $249 and Advanced at $449, with 5, 10 and 20 of your own tracked prompts. More own-prompt tracking is sold separately, from $50 a month, and Brand Radar AI starts at $199. It covers Google AI Overviews, Perplexity, Gemini, ChatGPT, Copilot and Google AI Mode, and its cited-pages view shows which URLs the engines lean on. When we configured a Brand Radar report on our own paid account in August 2026, its data endpoints returned "Missing addon: Brand Radar" until the separate licence was bought, so price the tracking as its own line. It suits a team that already lives in Ahrefs. The limitations are that there is no fix workflow, only research and tracking, and the included prompt allowance is small.
9. Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit: best if you already run SEO in Semrush
Semrush was the tool AI engines recommended most in our measurement, named in 22 of 29 answers. Its AI Visibility Toolkit is a separate product, not a perk of a higher Semrush tier: $99 a month per domain, billed annually, for 25 prompts tracked daily with mentions from ChatGPT, Google AI, Gemini and Perplexity. Its Cited Sources view lists the URLs behind each answer, and it adds prompt research with topic volume and difficulty, competitor gaps, an AI readiness site audit and weekly Brand Performance reports with AI-generated recommendations. Extra domains cost $99 each and 50 more prompts $60 a month. It suits a team that already runs its SEO in Semrush and wants AI data beside its keyword and backlink work. The limitations are scale and access: 25 prompts is a small set, each teammate needs a separate licence, Claude and Copilot are not listed, and there is no free trial. Semrush One bundles 50 to 200 prompts into its SEO plans.
10. Scrunch AI: best for brand teams that want breadth on a card
Scrunch AI is the closest thing to enterprise engine breadth that you can buy self-serve. Every plan tracks seven engines (ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity, Google AI Mode, Google AI Overviews and Meta AI), so coverage is not something you unlock later. Starter is $250 a month billed annually or $300 month-to-month, with 350 prompts, three user licences and five page audits a month; Growth is $417 or $500 for 700 prompts, and Enterprise is custom. It maps which sites the engines cite, and its Agent Experience Platform generates an AI-friendly version of your site for AI agents that visit it. There is a 7-day Starter trial that needs no card. It suits a brand team that wants most of an enterprise tool's coverage with a published price. The limitations are the floor and the fix allowance: nothing sits below $250, and five page audits a month is a small allowance if acting on the data is the point.
11. Profound: best for enterprise breadth
Profound is the enterprise standard, named in 15 of the 29 answers we measured and first in five. It no longer sells a self-serve plan: the $99 and $399 tiers it published in August 2026 were gone by September, and the paid product is Enterprise, priced through sales, with up to nine answer engines. A free 7-day trial covers 50 prompts a day on ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews. Its citation analytics split the sources behind answers into categories, Watched Pages track named URLs of your own over time, and on Enterprise its agents and AI Marketer credits draft content and stage it in your CMS for approval. It suits a large brand with an analytics team that needs boardroom-ready reporting. The limitations are price and process: there is no published figure to budget against, buying starts with a sales conversation, and for a team under ten people the depth will usually outweigh the need.
12. Conductor: best for enterprise SEO teams
Conductor is an enterprise SEO and content platform that added AI search tracking, so the AI layer extends a suite you would be buying anyway. Its pricing page, read on 26 September 2026, lists Essentials, Growth and Enterprise tiers with no prices: Essentials offers a free trial, Growth requires a demo and Enterprise a conversation with sales. It names four AI engines, Perplexity, ChatGPT, Gemini and Copilot, and does not name Google AI Overviews or Claude on that page. Its content workflows, CMS connectors and permissions are built for large organisations, and the account support comes with an enterprise contract. It suits a team that already uses Conductor, or one that wants SEO and AI visibility under a single enterprise agreement. The limitations are cost visibility and speed: there is no price to compare, onboarding is a real implementation project, and its site does not state whether it shows the specific pages each answer cited.
Five more AI visibility tools: Dageno, Rankscale, Frase, Waikay and Siftly
These five came close to the twelve. Dageno tracks nine platforms from $49 a month but not Claude, with fix recommendations from its $199 plan. Rankscale covers ten engines from $99 a month. Frase ties AI visibility to content writing from $49. Waikay pairs 120 prompts with action plans at $69.95. Siftly's free plan refreshes weekly across 10 prompts, and its $79 Starter moves to daily across 50 (read 17 September 2026). Each has a dedicated comparison: GetIntel vs Dageno, GetIntel vs Rankscale, GetIntel vs Frase and GetIntel vs Waikay.
How do you choose an AI visibility tool? Three buyer types
If you are a founder or a small team, the constraint is budget and time, not engine count. Start with GetIntel or Otterly.AI at $29, or LLMrefs at $79 if you want the widest coverage in one plan. Choose GetIntel if you want the fixes drafted, Otterly.AI if you want the cheapest monitor, and run the free AI visibility checkers first if you are not ready to pay.
If you are a growing team or an agency, the constraint is depth and reporting. Peec AI is strongest on source analysis, LLM Pulse on engines per euro and AthenaHQ on model count. If you already pay for Semrush, Ahrefs or SE Ranking, price their AI modules first, since the data sits beside work you already do. Agencies weighing multi-client reporting should read AI visibility tools for agencies.
If you are buying through procurement, the constraint is breadth, security and support. Profound, Scrunch AI and Conductor are the established choices, and only Scrunch publishes a price.
What does Google say these tools can measure?
Google says there is nothing special to optimise for its AI features. Its guidance on AI features in Search, last updated 10 December 2025, says: "There are no additional requirements to appear in AI Overviews or AI Mode, nor other special optimizations necessary." That matches what we measured: across the 40 most-cited pages in our own corpus on 11 August 2026, pages carrying JSON-LD averaged 118.3 citations against 121.3 for pages without it, and we found no measurable effect from llms.txt across the 50 most-cited domains. A tool that sells schema or llms.txt as a citation lever is selling against both. Google also reports AI-feature traffic inside Search Console's ordinary Web results, with no separate AI Overviews report, so you can see that a page got impressions but not whether an AI Overview named you. That gap is what every tool on this page fills. For how an AI visibility tool differs from a keyword tracker, see AI visibility tools vs rank trackers.
How were the prices, engines and citations checked?
Every price, plan and engine list was read from the vendor's own website on 26 September 2026, except Peec AI (17 September) and Siftly (17 September). Citation-level data was checked against each vendor's own feature pages the same day; where a site did not say, the table says so. The recommendation table comes from 10 buyer questions put to ChatGPT, Perplexity and Gemini through their APIs with web search on 26 September 2026, one run each, so treat it as a snapshot. An earlier study of which vendor domains AI engines cite, from 12 August 2026, is published as a dataset, and the AEO-specific version is in the best AEO tools.
For head-to-heads, see GetIntel vs Profound, GetIntel vs Peec AI and GetIntel vs Otterly, or compare AI visibility tools side by side. The fastest first step is still free: GetIntel's AI citation checker runs 20 buyer questions on ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews, 60 checks in all, in about two minutes with no signup.
