AthenaHQ's Starter plan shows $295 a month, including $300 in monthly credit and coverage across 11 AI models, read from athenahq.ai/pricing on 26 August 2026. What's different from every other vendor covered in this series: AthenaHQ doesn't sell a fixed count of tracked prompts. It sells credits, and the page never states how many credits one check actually consumes.
Disclosure: GetIntel is an AI visibility tool and competes with AthenaHQ, so weigh the comparison accordingly. Every figure below was read from athenahq.ai/pricing on 26 August 2026.
What Do the Tiers Include?
AthenaHQ sells three tiers: a free plan, one paid self-serve Starter tier at $295, and a custom Enterprise plan.
| Plan detail | Essential | Starter | Enterprise |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price shown on page load | Free | $295 | Custom |
| Monthly credit included | $25 | $300 | Custom |
| Credits per month | Not stated | 3,600 | Custom |
| AI engines tracked | 5 | 10 | 10+, custom |
| Topics | Not stated | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| Team members | Unlimited | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| API access | Not included | Paid add-on | Included |
AthenaHQ tier structure, read from athenahq.ai/pricing on 26 August 2026. Starter's $295 is the price shown on page load; the page has a Monthly/Annual toggle but doesn't confirm which cycle that figure reflects, or state the other cycle's rate. Essential includes ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews, Gemini, and Copilot. Starter adds Google AI Mode, Claude, Grok, DeepSeek, and Meta AI, with additional models available on request. Both paid tiers list unlimited seats with role-based access control.
The jump from Essential to Starter isn't just price. Starter adds five more tracked engines, doubling the base five to ten, plus the content optimization agent, on-page and off-page action support, and CSV export, none of which Essential includes at any credit level.
What Does a Credit Cost, and What Does It Buy?
An AthenaHQ credit works out to just over 8 cents. Its Starter tier states $300 in monthly credit equals 3,600 credits, which works out to just over 8 cents a credit ($300 divided by 3,600 is $0.083). What a single credit actually buys, one prompt check on one engine, one content recommendation, one competitor benchmark, isn't stated anywhere on the pricing page as read 26 August 2026.
Dageno's agent-credit system has a similar shape: a real, spendable credit unit with no published conversion from "credits" to "checks" either, so AthenaHQ isn't alone in leaving that gap open, though Dageno's page doesn't state a dollar-per-credit rate the way AthenaHQ's does. Either way, a buyer can't compute a per-prompt or per-engine cost from the credit figures alone, the way a fixed-prompt-count vendor allows. Unlimited topics paired with a metered, undefined-consumption-rate credit pool shifts the actual usage cap onto something a prospective buyer can't calculate in advance.
Which Billing Cycle Is $295 Actually?
The $295 figure is the monthly rate. This was an open question on this page through August 2026, when two reads could not tell which cycle the displayed number reflected. A third read on 23 September 2026 resolved it: the Starter card renders the price as "$295 /month", above a Monthly / Annual toggle where the annual option is marked 17% off. The annual per-month equivalent is still not stated as a figure on the page, so it is not given here rather than computed from the 17%.
Who Does Each AthenaHQ Tier Target?
AthenaHQ names an audience for each tier in labels read from athenahq.ai/pricing on 26 August 2026, and they name it directly in the plan comparison table: Starter is positioned for "Self-Guided SMBs," Enterprise for "Enterprises & Agencies."
That's a narrower self-serve band than some competitors in this category, which often split self-serve into three or more tiers by scale. Here, everything past a single self-serve plan requires a sales conversation, and Enterprise is where most of the differentiating features live: the Athena Citation Engine, Oracle discrepancy detection, persona targeting, multi-region support, and an executive dashboard with BI-tool integrations (Tableau, Power BI, Looker).
The plan comparison table on the page, read the same day, lists several capabilities as checkmark rows without a clear text value for either tier, real-time brand sentiment intelligence, a certified GEO/SEO specialist, Google Analytics and Search Console integration, and a 2-hour SLA among them, so this piece can't confirm which tier includes them from the page alone. What the table does state in plain text: multi-region and multi-language support is single-region on Starter and multi-region on Enterprise, additional credits are a paid add-on on Starter but included in Enterprise's custom allocation, and API access follows the same pattern.
What Doesn't AthenaHQ's Pricing Page Settle?
AthenaHQ's pricing page leaves more than the billing cycle unsettled. Several other things it does not state as read 26 August 2026.
The credit-to-check conversion rate is the biggest gap: no published rate means no way to estimate whether $300 in monthly credit covers light or heavy usage without contacting sales or starting a trial. The page also doesn't state what happens when Starter's credits run out mid-month, whether service pauses, overage bills automatically, or something else. And while "Additional Models Available Upon Request" is listed under Starter, no pricing for that request is shown.
Where Did These AthenaHQ Figures Come From?
All AthenaHQ figures were read from athenahq.ai/pricing on 26 August 2026. The $295 Starter price and $300 monthly credit figure match an earlier note, dated 2 August 2026, citing Semrush as having reported the same two numbers; this piece is the first read taken directly from AthenaHQ's own page rather than from a page citing it. The credit-to-dollar rate ($0.083 per credit) is arithmetic on AthenaHQ's own published numbers and nothing else.
For the fuller picture on other vendors in this category, see Dageno pricing 2026 and LLM Pulse pricing 2026. For how GetIntel positions against AthenaHQ specifically, see AthenaHQ alternatives. For a head-to-head on price, engines and fix workflow, see GetIntel vs AthenaHQ.
